• The House with Chicken Legs

    By Sophie Anderson (J Ande)

    Marinka dreams of a normal life, where her house stays in one place long enough for her to make friends. But her house has chicken legs and moves on without warning. For Marinka's grandmother is Baba Yaga, who guides spirits between this world and the next. Marinka longs to change her destiny and sets out to break free from her grandmother's footsteps, but her house has other ideas...

     


  • The Turnaway Girls

    By Hayley Chewins (J Chew, CD J Chew)

    Delphernia Undersea wants to sing. But everyone on Blightsend knows music belongs to the Masters — and girls with singing throats are swallowed by the sea.


  • Aru Shah and the End of Time (Book 1 in the Pandava series)

    By Roshani Chokshi (J Chok, CD J Chok)

    Aru Shah is a smart and salty middle school girl who just wants to impress her snooty private school friends. She takes them on a tour of the Indian-American Museum her mom curates, where her friends dare her to do the one thing she is forbidden to do: light an ancient lamp that will supposedly start the end of the world.

     


  • The Language of Spells

    By Garret Weyr (JM Weyr)

    Grisha is a dragon in a world that's forgotten how to see him. Maggie is an unusual child who thinks she's perfectly ordinary. They're an unlikely duo—but magic, like friendship, is funny. Sometimes it chooses those who might not look so likely. And magic has chosen Grisha and Maggie to solve the darkest mystery in Vienna.

     


  • A Dash of Trouble (Book 1 in the Sugar Magic series)

    By Anna Meriano (J Meri)

    Wanting to be a part of her family's Dia de los Muertos preparations, Leonora sneaks out of school to discover her mother, aunt, and older sisters have been keeping a secret.


  • Small Spaces

    By Katherine Arden (J Arde, CD J Arde)

    After eleven-year-old Ollie's school bus mysteriously breaks down on a field trip, she has to take a trip through scary woods, and must use all of her wits to survive. She must stick to small spaces.

     


  • The Serpent's Secret (Book 1 in the Kiranmala and the Kingdom Beyond series)

    By Sayantani DasGupta (J DasG, CD J DasG)

    On the morning of her twelfth birthday, Kiranmala is just a regular sixth grader living in Parsippany, New Jersey... until her parents mysteriously vanish and a drooling rakkhosh demon slams through her kitchen, determined to eat her alive. Turns out there might be some truth to her parents' fantastical stories-like how Kiranmala is a real Indian princess and how she comes from a secret place not of this world.


  • The Fog Diver (Book 1 in the Fog Diver series)

    By Joel N. Ross (J Ross)

    A deadly white mist has cloaked the earth for hundreds of years. Now humanity clings to its highest peaks, called the Rooftop, where the wealthy Five Families rule over the lower slopes and floating junkyards. Thirteen-year-old Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea, and Swedish sail their rickety air raft over the deadly Fog, scavenging the ruins for anything they can sell to survive.

     


  • Furthermore: a Novel (Book 1 in the Furthermore series)

    By Taherah Mafi (J Mafi, CD J Mafi)

    Twelve-year-old Alice Queensmeadow, with the help of her friend Oliver, travels through the dangerous, magical land of Furthermore in order to rescue her missing father and prove her own magical abilities.

     


  • The Iron Trial (Book 1 in the Magisterium series)

    By Holly Black (J Blac, CD J Blac)

    Warned away from magic all of his life, Callum endeavors to fail the trials that would admit him to the Magisterium only to be drawn into its ranks against his will and forced to confront dark elements from his past.

     


  • The Stone Girl's Story

    By Sarah Beth Durst (J Durs)

    A girl made of stone, forever twelve years old, has outlasted the father who carved her and gave her life, but now the magical marks that animate her are fading and she must leave her mountain home and find help in the valley below if she wants her story--and those of her family--to continue.


  • Sweep: the Story of a Girl and Her Monster

    By Jonathan Auxier (J Auxi)

    In nineteenth-century England, after her father's disappearance Nan Sparrow, ten, works as a "climbing boy," aiding chimney sweeps, but when her most treasured.

     


  • Wicked Nix

    By Lena Coakley (J Coak)

    While the other fairies are away, mischievous Nix is charged with protecting the forest but he has no magic to prevent a man from moving into a woodland cottage.

     


  • Charlie Hernández & the League of Shadows (Book 1 in the Charlie Hernández series)

    By Ryan Calejo (J Cale, CD J Cale)

    Steeped in Hispanic folklore since childhood, middle schooler Charlie Hernández learns thestories are true when, shortly after his parents disappearance, he grows horns and feathers andfinds himself at the heart of a battle to save the world.


  • The Storm Runner (Book 1 in the Storm Runner series)

    By Jennifer Cervantes (J Cerv, CD J Cerv)

    To prevent the Mayan gods from battling each other and destroying the world, thirteen-year-old Zane must unravel an ancient prophecy, stop an evil god, and discover how the physical disability that makes him reliant on a cane also connects him to his father and his ancestry.

     


  • Dragons in a Bag (Book 1 in the Dragons in a Bag series)

    By Zetta Elliot (J Elli)

    In Brooklyn, nine-year-old Jax joins Ma, a curmudgeonly witch who lives in his building, on a quest to deliver three baby dragons to a magical world, and along the way discovers his true calling.

     


  • The Revenge of Magic (Book 1 in the Revenge of Magic series)

    By James Riley (J Rile)

    When long-dead magical creatures are discovered all around the world, each with a buried book of magic, the governments of the world want to unlock the power the books, but need the help of kids to harness the magical power.

     


  • The Storm Keeper's Island

    By Catherine Doyle (J Doyl)

    Fionn Boyle, terrified of the sea, must spend the summer with this older sister, Tara, and their grandfather on Arranmore, an island that has been known to make people disappear, and seems to be restless again.