NEA Big Read

 

Toms River Big Read: a community-wide reading experience
which engages all of Toms River in exploring a single book!

Our Partner: TR School System

Community-Wide Events

Book Club Discussion Questions

About the NEA Big Read

 

Check out the lineup of free events held for the public which includes:

 

*Please Note: you do not need to have read the book to enjoy our Big Read programs

One snowy night a famous Hollywood actor slumps over and dies onstage during a production of King Lear. Hours later, the world as we know it begins to dissolve. Moving back and forth in time—from the actor’s early days as a film star to fifteen years in the future, when a theater troupe known as the Traveling Symphony roams the wasteland of what remains—this suspenseful, elegiac, spellbinding novel charts the strange twists of fate that connect five people: the actor, the man who tried to save him, the actor’s first wife, his oldest friend, and a young actress with the Traveling Symphony, caught in the cross-hairs of a dangerous self-proclaimed prophet. Sometimes terrifying, sometimes tender, Station Eleven tells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it.

 

Click here to find a copy!

Station Eleven Read-Alikes:

For Students in High School

For Students in Middle School

For Students ages 9 through 12 years old


"What was lost in the collapse: almost everything, almost everyone,
but there is still such beauty."

-Emily St. John Mandel